good riddance january

6 Feb

I hate January.

I’m glad it’s gone. I would be thrilled if I could live in a world where the coldest month of the year just didn’t exist.

It always seems to go by so darn slowly, too! Probably because December flies by so quickly with all the family events, shopping, wrapping, parties, over-time shifts, decorating, more shopping, and more wrapping, and food, food, food. Or maybe January just sucks because we’re all mostly broke and exhausted from December?

Actually, I’m pretty sure it just sucks because it’s the coldest month of the year. If April followed December, nobody would complain that it went by at a snail’s pace. Except it wouldn’t go by so slowly because you’d be ultra busy going on walks, enjoying the change in weather, and getting your body bikini-ready. At least, I would be.

I digress.

It’s FEBRUARY betches!!!

Although I should be thrilled, I’m not really. Nothing against February – I totes appreciate the much-warmer-but-still-cold weather, and the fact that the days are getting noticeably longer – but I’m not loving that my husband will be away for three of the four weeks this month. March? Not looking much better in that respect.

Not to mention, this is the very first time in 7 years that we won’t be together for V-day!

In light of this – I’m looking for a new valentine. Who wants to Be Mine this valentine’s?

I am SO buying all my valentine cards from Pear Tree Greetings from now on!

I guess the one nice thing about February was that I got to shout “Happy 8 months baby!” as he was getting on the greyhound bus.

Maybe it’s because it was midnight and I was exhausted? maybe it’s because I had spilled steaming hot coffee all over myself in the parking lot? Or maybe it’s just because this whole long distance thing is just really, really hard. But I cried.

I was the lady in the coffee stained PJ pants bawling her eyes out as the Greyhound bus pulled away.

God, I am SO dramatic.

Leave a Reply

