my ancestors are disowning me.

24 Jan

I effing love poutine. I am a vegan. I’m sure you can see the dilemma here.

Today I decided enough was enough. After 4 years sans a single poutine, I decided I had endured enough torture. Today, I was going to change the face of veganism for all French-Canadians.

I’m going to tell you in advance, that my vegan poutine sucked.

Cooking blows. I hate cutting up veggies and stuff more than anything.  Obviously, I approached vegan poutine with the same culinary laziness I used for all my meals.

Lets start with the ingredients.

Rather than chop up some potatoes – I bought McCain’s Superfries. That’s not even the real problem though, any poutine connaisseur knows that real french fries are deep fried. I have an aversion to deep fried things, so I don’t own a deep fryer. I baked the fries instead. And by baked, of course I mean burned.

After the fries were nice and burned, I added some St-Hubert brown gravy  to them (from a can, of course!). I picked St-Hubert because it’s kind of a big deal in Quebec (home of the poutine!). Now, we all know REAL poutines aren’t made with gravy. They are made with Poutine Sauce (yes. there is a difference). This was obviously strike 2.

and lastly. I had to use vegan mozzarella cheese slices (think Kraft Singles)… I’m going to be perfectly honest here, I know I’m vegan and I’m supposed to love all things vegan, but vegan cheese? Horrible. It’s nasty.

Except this stuff. Which is not available in Sudbury.

OMG! I JUST CHECKED THE WEBSITE!!! THEY HAVE A RETAILER IN NORTH BAY!!!!!! OMG OMG OMG! Britton is not allowed back home unless he is  packing Daiya!!!!

 

 

 

2 Responses to “my ancestors are disowning me.”

  1. Amanda October 2, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    How is St-Hubert brown gravy vegan, doesn’t it have chicken in it?

    • Stephanie October 2, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

      Oddly enough, it doesn’t. My grand-maman had sent me some and I was shocked when I read there was no chicken in it!

Leave a Reply

