…et bonne année grand-mère!

2 Jan

Every year around this time, my mom and I look up our Chinese zodiac predictions for the coming year.

Last year, for example, was the year of the metal tiger – Being that I am a rabbit, I was told that 2010 would be extremely fast-paced for me.
An accurate prediction indeed. 2010 was the craziest, busiest year I have ever had. It wasn’t a bad year, but it wasn’t a great year either – it went from one extreme to the other. When it was good, it was REALLY good (I got married!!) and when it was bad, it was REALLY bad (I had to work to support my husband who is still in school, while juggling paying off my student loans. I also moved away from all my friends.)

The Chinese new year is on February 14th this year – and it’s finally going to be MY year. That’s right folks – 2011 is the year of the rabbit. My husband and I are both rabbits, and this is supposed to be a “good luck” year for us. It’s predicted that it will be nice and steady paced, and centered around family.

Despite any predictions, I’m really looking forward to 2011. There are so many unknowns! At the beginning of 2010, I knew that I would likely be moving up north, that Britton and I would get married, that we would both graduate, etc.

I have no idea what’s in store for 2011, other than that my husband will be graduating from TC.

Will we move? Will he get a teaching job?? Unlike nursing, the job market for teachers in Canada is completely saturated – and there are definitely no guarantees that he will find employment. Which is sad.

Time will tell, I guess.

I guess one more great thing i can look forward to in 2011 – my soul sister JB will become JD on August 20th when she marries her prince charming, Ryan!! Yours truly will be maid of honour. Pretty much the event of the year, if you ask me.

Oh – and obviously – the royal wedding. I am sooooooo taking time off work so I can watch the nuptials live!! I am pretty much en amour with the adorable couple that is Prince William and Kate Middleton. Anyone else looking forward to watching this??

I kind of wish it was like a concert – and you could buy tickets to the wedding on ticketmaster. But if you did, would you have to buy a gift?? Something tells me that some cute towels from The Bay aren’t quite good enough for a royal wedding?

Will Canada buy the new Mr and Mrs a gift? I’m pretty sure we gave Charles and Camilla a fancy park bench or something?

I just had a thought…. does William have a last name?? Is “Of  Whales” his last name?? How did I never notice this before… WTF is the royals family’s last name!?

I wonder what life would be like with no surname and piles of money?

 

2 Responses to “…et bonne année grand-mère!”

  1. Carolyn January 11, 2011 at 2:47 am #

    His last name is Windsor! We get a holiday for the event here. Unfortunately, I don’t have TV so I’m guessing I won’t get to watch it.

    • Stephanie January 11, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      OMG thank you!!! It was starting to bug me! I even googled it… but for some reason, didn’t come up with much. Should have checked wikipedia!

      As if it’s a holiday! I wish it was here!!!

      “William Windsor” – actually… that sounds kinda bad 😦

Leave a Reply

