the one where I make an ass of myself…

24 Aug

Last night I had typed up a lengthy post all about how I locked my keys in my running car, got a 52$ parking ticket in Montreal on my birthday, and blah blah blah.

But you know what? I’m lucky to live in a country where I can afford luxuries like a car. Damnit, I can even afford to begrudgingly pay for said birthday parking ticket. I sometimes need to remind myself that there are people stuck in a massive flood in Pakistan, and children starving in Africa – not to sound like my grandma or anything – but I’m pretty sure I’m whining about nothing. Oh, and yes, I am totally ashamed that I wasted my time crying about the frustrating Mac. I’m lucky to even HAVE a computer.

Sometimes I need to remind myself how blessed I am.

When I was in college, I met this lovely woman, Carol. Carol immigrated to Canada from the Philippines. She met her Canadian husband on-line, and now they have an adorable 2 year old and live in his parent’s basement, while she finishes her nursing diploma. Yup – they live in her in-laws basement. Guess what?? She tells anyone who will listen how much she loves Canada “I can have a CAR! and a DISHWASHER! Everyone is so rich here! – my sister is trying to meet a Canadian man!”

Thanks Carol.

Leave a Reply

