thoughts on moving

29 Jul

Well, the great northern migration is the day after tomorrow – and tomorrow will be here in an hour.

I’m tired, I’m stressed, I’m sad, I’m excited, I’m scared and it just doesn’t feel real.

The whole thing has been bitter-sweet, but I would be lying if I said that right now I didn’t think it was mostly bitter.

I lived in Sudbury for 7 years, my mom and siblings (including my soul-sister, Jessica, until recently) live there… but it’s not home anymore. It’s just not. I’ve made a life in southern Ontario – most of my friends are here. I DO have other friends there, and I’m grateful for that – but I sort of feel like I’m starting over in some ways.

I also feel like my life in Northern Ontario was so isolated. There are things about the Canadian North that I LOVE – do not get me wrong – but I HATED the fact that the next closest big city is still HOURS away. In Chatham, we could always go to London or Windsor for an afternoon – and it was no big deal. KW is even better, Toronto is a mere 45 minutes away, and London maybe an hour?

I also hated how, for a fairly large city, the greater city of Sudbury (GCS?) had a small town feel, but only in the sense that EVERYONE knows your business. Maybe it’s the isolation I mentioned above? Maybe it’s the fact that such a HUGE percentage of the population are employed in the mining sector (hellooooo Inco!) and therefore everyone knows each other because our parents/in-laws/friends/etc all work together in some capacity???

I guess I should talk about the positives (and there ARE positives). That would likely make me feel better… I love the landscape. Sorry Southern Ontario – you’re too flat. I love the fact that you can sometimes see moose, or black bears – even in town! I love that it’s cottage country… and most of all, I am looking forward to the WINTERS. Yup. You heard it here first, folks. I would take a northern winter over a southern Ontario winter ANY day. It’s just not as humid. In the great lakes town of Chatham, I thought my limbs would fall off in -10 degree weather. I swear I could feel the cold in my bones. Heck, in Sudbury, when it’s – 10 it’s still relatively mild, and I feel comfortable enough to go for a walk as long as I’m dressed appropriately.

I’m not really sure where I was going with this post. I guess I just needed to vent.

In any case, the move is almost upon us and I need to get my rear in gear and get back to packing if this is going to go as smoothly as I’m hoping.

g’night!

Leave a Reply

