a proud day

27 Jun

Britton and I both missed convocation, because we were on our honeymoon.

On the day of his convocation, we were swimming in this glorious 130 foot waterfall – no big deal.

Even though I missed convocation, I was lucky enough to have a pinning ceremony (basically convocation for nurses!) which I blogged about at the time.

I felt kinda bad that my husband missed his convocation, but he assured me that there would be another when he graduates from Teacher’s College. Which brings me to this post.

Yesterday, a glorious package arrived in the mail, in a pristine white envelope! HIS DEGREE! He opened it, and I bawled like a gros bébé la la (cry baby en francais)

Yeah, my husband has now officially graduated from the University of Waterloo with a degree in Mathematical Physics. mmmm hmmm you read that right folks – mathematical physics. He’s a flippin’ genious!

Every time I tell someone what he’s studying he studied, their eyes get wide and they usually utter some variation of  ” woah” or  “Oh wow!” and my heart just fills with pride.

In honour of all the pride I am feeling at the moment – I want to write a blog post commending my hubby on all his awesome academic achievements!

When we graduated highschool (we’re the same age, went to the same high school, and graduated together!) he was on the honour roll, not only that, but he got a school letter for being on the honour roll and still participating in extracurricular activities (such as high school musicals! Britton can SING! I just love it!) he was also a black belt in Tae Kwon Do, and was practicing martial arts 3x/week (yup.. and he STILL made honour roll – no big deal right?)

He got into every single university he applied to, but of course chose University of Waterloo – if you’re Canadian, you KNOW how good UW is rated, especially for anything math/physics/engineering related.

In his first year at the university, he was voted first year rep for the physics club for BOTH semesters (unheard of at the time!) Through university he’s held many positions with the club.

He has worked as a physics tutor for the university, and thrown children’s birthdays parties as a Mad Scientist with Mad Science (the kids just loved him!! )

Before graduating, he applied to Teacher’s college – which is EXTREMELY competitive in Ontario, many amazing candidates don’t get in, and chose to go to Australia or Europe to study. Well, he got in on his first try!!! Not going to lie, having physics and math as teachables put him at a huge advantage since there is a large demand for teachers with those teachables here in Canada.

And at the end of July, we make our big move to North Bay!!!!  Bragging over – I promise – (for now!)

We’ve been through so much together over the past 6 years, and I’m so glad I could be here with you every step of the way! You never stop amazing or inspiring me. Everything we have, we have built together from nothing, and I am looking forward to what our future brings! Together we can do anything !!!

In other equally-sappy news CONGRATULATIONS to Leah and Steve on the birth of their absolutely gorgeous baby girl, Sophie Victoria!!! I would totally post a picture of her, but am not sure about posting pictures of other people’s babies without their permisson! so everyone will just have to take my word for it that she is pretty much the cutest newborn I have ever seen pictures of!!! Hop on over to Leah’s blog to see the evidence if you don’t believe me!

stay tuned for the recipe of the deeeelicious cake I made Britton, and part 2 of basic family nursing care – DIARRHEA!!! Yummmmay.

2 Responses to “a proud day”

  1. Carolyn June 27, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Adam got his too…but we have to go pick it up. I get the same wide-eyed response when I tell people. Then I tell people I’m in English and they are less than impressed! Haha. Good news about teacher’s college – especially since Adam wants to go and those are his teachables too!

    I love how proud you are of him! Not that it isn’t deserved! Congrats to Britton.

    And I’m also jealous of your honeymoon. Definitely beats convocation, I’d say!

    • Stephanie June 27, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

      Congrats to Adam as well!!! Holy shit did our boys ever work hard, eh?? Adam should have NO problem getting into TC!

Leave a Reply

