PTFD

27 Apr

Post Traumatic Food Dissorder

Britton coined the term tonight at dinner when I couldn’t finish my steamed spinach.

This summer I had an unfortunate encounter with some steamed swiss chard. Britton had worked hard all summer at the community vegetable garden, growing delicious organic veggies for us to eat on the cheap. When he came home with swiss chard, I was naturally super excited to eat it!! When dinner was served, I dug right into my greens. I was about halfway finished my massive serving when I saw it. A slug. In my swiss chard. Dead, but still a gross slimy creepy crawly (do slugs crawl?) slug.  I won’t gross you out with the details, but long story short, the contents of my mouth were promptly spit out into my plate and I was unable to eat anything else for the whole evening.

Ever since then I have not been able to eat steamed swiss chard without picturing the nasty boiled slug. Even when I rinse and prepare the offending greens myself and am 100% sure there are no bugs. It’s bad.

Spinach, however, I love. I freaking LOVE spinach and have it very often in my green monsters, and salads. I don’t eat a lot of steamed spinach though. In fact, it’s been so long that I’ve forgotten that steamed spinach tastes an awful lot like steamed swiss chard. Same texture too.  Was unable to finish my dinner tonight.

Do you have PTFD??

In other exciting news, ASPARAGUS SEASON IS SOOOOON!!!! I effing live for asparagus season. Best time of the year.  Britton also reminded me that it’s nettle season currently. Yes, nettle season. Yes, the prickly weeds that everyone in sandals hates. Yes, weeds.

Britton is a forager. I’m marrying a cave man. See, last summer he read a whole bunch of stuff about foraging food in North-America. It was actually pretty awesome. He found like a bazillion wild raspberry bushes near us, and we ate like vegan kings for the whole summer for very little dime.

Huh. Nettles are edible, who knew? And no, it’s not like eating a cactus.


Nettles have very high levels of minerals, especially, calcium, magnesium, iron, potassium, phosphorous, manganese, silica, iodine, silicon, sodium, and sulfur. They also provide chlorophyll and tannin, and they’re a good source of vitamin C, beta-carotene, and B complex vitamins. Nettles also have high levels of easily absorbable amino acids. They’re ten percent protein, more than any other vegetable.

Pretty awesome eh? They also taste pretty yummy (definitely more hardy than most greens) and are cheap as free.

Please… cook them first.

One Response to “PTFD”

  1. rovisi April 27, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    My dad BBQ’d asparagus tonight. ‘Twas wonderful 🙂

Leave a Reply

