The Horror…

15 Apr

Whenever I go on a trip, I like to research the destination in great detail. It helps me make a little plan in my head of all the things I want to see and do, and points me toward some non-touristy stuff that is always amazing.

So I bought this book recentlyso far it’s AWESOME. I’ve learned about culture, history… and overall I do feel much more prepared to take on the D.R.

Since Britton and I won’t be staying at a resort, we get to hang out with the locals, and find out what island life is truly all about. I am SO incredibly excited for our honeymoon. At least, I was until I read the following paragraphs.

Arachnids, Insects, and Relatives
there are mantids. Cockroaches. Venemous centipedes. Big stink bugs. Katylids 3 inches long. Stick insects as long as your forearm. Beetles galore…

Mantid

…Probing around with your hands amid rocks is never a good idea, as scorpions spend the daylight hours hiding in shady crevices…Hispaniola has an amazing 32 distinct species of scorpions! Some are virtually harmless to humans; Others have a venom as deadly as any viper.

Scorpion-related deaths total 5000 per year worldwide !!

… The DR even boasts its own endemic species of tarantula. The black Greater Hispaniola tarantula – a true giant of the spider kingdom – is as big as your hand… will bite only if provoked, except during mating season when the males are particularly ill-tempered.


…Enormous tarantula hawk wasp…the females paralyze large spiders (tarantulas) with their powerful sting. Dragging the paralyzed spider into her burrow, she then lays an egg upon it and seals the entrance to the hole. When the larvae hatch, they eat the inert yet still-alive host.

Yeah. The tarantula hawk wasp is actually the creature that convinced Charles Darwin that there was no God and converted him to atheism. For reals. I’m not making this up.

Note to self: carry extra-deadly RAID on your person at all times while in the DR. Ignore Britton when he lectures you about how mass insecticide is so not vegan.

Oh, and I have totally given myself the heebie-jeebies and am 99.8% sure that I will have a nightmare tonight.

2 Responses to “The Horror…”

  1. rovisi April 16, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    Ignore Britton. Insecticide or have baby tarantula hawk wasps feasting on your body. 😛

  2. Melanie April 16, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    omg.. that is some scary stuff…:P have fun! heehee

Leave a Reply

