Pill Poppin’

5 Apr

I cannot tell you how many patients I have had in my short career who have no idea what pills they are taking. Sure, they might be able to tell you the name, but they’ve been pill poppin’ so long they can’t remember what the medication is for.

I even had one lady who was swallowing her sublingual medication just like the rest of her pills. When I explained to her that she was to place it under her tongue and let it dissolve, she said “Sweetheart, I’ve been taking this pill for about 8 years now. I know how to take it!” she couldn’t even tell me what it was for! Or they will call their pills things like “my heart pill”  – So?? what about your heart?? what does it DO to your heart?? “gee, that’s a good question!”

I’ve also heard of people suffering from COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disorder) from years of smoking. Every time they have difficulty breathing, they take their nitroglycerin (which by the way won’t help them breathe better. It’s typically used to treat chest pain (angina) mmmkay?)

I think a lot of healthy people also pill pop supplements without fully understanding why they are taking them. They read somewhere that it is good for them, so they started taking the supplement.

It wasn’t until yesterday morning that I realized I was one of them. Yep. I can tell you what all of my supplements are and why I take them, except for one.Spirulina. I knew it was a blue-green algae. that’s about it. I finally researched it yesterday, and I’ve been taking it for months!! I’m almost ashamed to be admitting this!

So what is so good about Spirulina? Well, for one, it’s packed full of great vitamins and minerals, and is a high protein supplement.  It contains vitamins B1,B2, B3, B6, B9, C, D, and E. ANd is full of potassium, calcium, chromium, copper, iron, magnesium, manganese, phosphorus, selenium, sodium, and zinc.

Without going into great detail about all the sciency stuff, Spirulina has been shown to have some AWESOME effects for people suffering from HIV or cancer. It also helps to regulate the inflammatory responses arthritic patients have (which is applicable to me). It also alleviates symptoms of allergic rhinitis.
And last but not least, A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled intervention study involving geriatric patients determined that Spirulina helped significantly reduce the low density lipoprotein to high density lipoprotein ratio after four months of supplementation. (referenced at the bottom of this page)

So that I know what it is and what it does, I will continue to take it. I’ve also suggested that Britton start taking it since he suffers from allergic rhinitis (especially around this time of year!). We’ll see if it helps!

We nourish our bodies with what we put into them.

I don’t buy food without reading the nutrition label… So why am I taking supplements if I don’t know what they do or what they are for??

Leave a Reply

