Making light out of Bad Days

1 Apr

I won’t get into too much detail, but today was one of those days.

Let’s spare the deets and just say it went from bad, to worse.

I have to say I am really proud of how I managed to turn this day around. I was in tears at one point, about something I had very little control over, and decided – what the heck… I’m going shopping. I went out with a friend, no makeup, hair all yucky and in a plain ‘ol ponytail (I had just come from work guys, cut me a break!) and we stepped into Le Chateau on the hunt for a possible bachelorette dress (Mission accomplished bee tee dubs). What amazed me was that I am wearing a size bigger than I wore two years ago (I could still get into a small, but the medium was more comfy for dresses as I am quite top-heavy)…. and I didn’t care. I tried on all the dresses I liked thinking that this day could not possibly get any worse… I am proud to say that I looked AWESOME in almost every dress I tried on. Oh yeah, and I had HAIRY legs! (Shut up!!! I’m getting them waxed on Tuesday, ok?? GAWD!) I chose not to focus at all on the size of the dress, and focus on how I felt in the dress. I am so glad I did. I really did prove to myself that you do not need to be a size zero to feel good in what you wear, and look sexy. Confidence truly is sexy!! I have been feeling a lot more confident the past few weeks (maybe it’s the tanning?), and I truly think it shows.

On Monday while walking home, I stepped inside a “construction zone” at an intersection (there was no where else to wait for the light to change so I could cross!) I politely asked the crew if I could stand there… and one of them said “OOOh, we would love it if you stood there, pretty lady!” – granted, he was clearly a slimy construction-type. But it was nice to hear.

I was also told by my optometrist on Tuesday that I was “young and beautiful”…and he gave me 100$ off my glasses and threw in free contacts. Again, that was nice to hear! And today, when I went to pick up a celebratory pizza for my almost-hubby (he got his first Teacher’s College Acceptance letter today!!!) the Italian guy in the pizza shop said “Stephanie, you make my day.  Every time I get call from ze Stephanie, I hope it is you!”.

So ladies, turn that frown upside down! Next time you try on clothes, remember that it’s not YOU, it’s the clothes, and don’t focus on size!! it’s just a number!!

Happy Easter weekend everyone!!! Hopefully tomorrow will be better than today was!! Good grief!!

One Response to “Making light out of Bad Days”

  1. Melanie April 2, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    Steph! this blog is awesomeness!! I love it!!!!

Leave a Reply

