Heaven has a name.

19 Mar

Oh yeah.

ooohhhhhhhhh yeah.

Unintentional product review.

I guess I should start at the beginning. Britton and I have had a love for toffutti and toffuti cuties ever since we first went vegan and ate these legend-wait for it-DARY (any How I Met Your Mother fans out there?? No??)  ice cream sandwiches.

That love was intensified with a bit lot of lust when we took a trip to NYC and discovered that there were even more flavours that we had never heard of, let alone tasted! Key lime pie, Coffee Break, PEANUT BUTTER!!!!
We ate sooooo many toffuti cuties in NYC. I’m pretty sure we were the health food store’s best customers that week.

Which brings us to two days ago, at a local health food store here in Waterloo – The weather was gorgeous and I was cravin’ me some delicious burgers. I open the door to the freezer section and let out a squeal of pleasure. There, right in front of me, was this:

BRITTON!!!! THEY MAKE PIZZA!!!! TOFFUTI  MAKES PIZZA!!!!

Yup. Pretty sure I almost shoved an old lady aside while running down an aisle with a frozen pan pizza in my haste to show Britton.

Did we eat it that night? Nope. We knew we would be with friends last night, so we planned ahead and bought a meal we could bring and cook at their place. (it’s all about moderation and planning, right?)

I think you can tell by the title of the post that I loved it.

You don’t understand – Yes, its frozen pizza. But as a vegan I have yet to taste an even slightly tasty cheese substitute that starts off solid and melts in the oven. It’s like the holy grail of vegan food.

As delicious as it is, I would not eat this pizza very often because let’s face it – it is sooo processed. I prefer to fuel my body with whole foods, but this is a real gem for parties and occasions when you just don’t give a damn and you’re craving some junk!

The nutrition label was a gem too! I could pronounce and recognize every single one of the ingredients on the label, and one moderate sized slice boasts a modest 175 calories, 5 grams of fat and 7 grams of protein!! There isn’t a very high fiber content – but hey, we can’t all be perfect!!

One box contains 3 slices. I ate one, and Britton had the other two. He loved it as well.

My next kitteh is soooooo going to be named Toffuti.

Or Lion.

One Response to “Heaven has a name.”

  1. rovisi March 19, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    I prefer tofutti as a kitteh name.

    Although you should really diversify your animal investments and get a dog.

Leave a Reply

