Easy night shift Quinoa and Kale

2 Mar

The very first EPS recipe!! Hurrah!!
A few more of these babies and I might have to start a recipe page!

Easy Night Shift Quinoa and Kale
makes enough for two servings.

1 cup dried quinoa
2 cups water
Kale
2-3 cups tomato or pasta sauce or your choice
1-2 cups protein (I used two tofurkey beer sausages, but alternatively you could use 1.5 cups of prepared green lentils)

1. Boil the water
2. Add the quinoa
3. While quinoa is cooking, cook your protein (I sautéed two tofurkey beer sausages, cut into pieces)you could also cook up some green lentils
4. tear the kale into small pieces and steam it until it turns a nice bright green
5. when everything is done cooking, mix the quinoa, steamed kale, and protein together in a bowl, add the pasta sauce.

Voila.

I love this recipe because of its high protein content (Quinoa is a very high protein grain – actually, it’s a pseudo grain. but whatevs.)

I also love that I don’t have to bring more than one Tupperware container to work! I hate that. I take the bus… so stuffing a bag full of Tupperware is annoying. One container houses the whole meal – grains, veggies, protein. throw in some almonds and a Lara Bar and I’m set for nights!!

Bon appetit!!

Leave a Reply

