New Attitude

27 Feb

Yesterday work went surprisingly well, despite the fact that we are still in transition from the new pharmacy, the pills are still not organized, and we’re still running really late with our AM med pass.

You’ll be happy to know that I did not break down crying yesterday.

So what changed? Well, I woke up yesterday, (exhausted despite having had a full night of sleep) and almost cried. I was so close to calling in. I just did not think I could face another morning med pass with the new pharmacy.  I obviously cannot afford to call in, so I knew I had to go into work. I got ready as usual, and when I was walking to the bus I wondered how I could make this situation better? Was there anything I could do about the meds to make them easier? No. There wasn’t. The only thing I could change was my attitude. So I told myself that I was going to do my best, and I was going to have a good day no matter what. For some reason, just that thought put me in a better mood! Funny how the mind works sometimes, isn’t it?

I got into work, and started the med pass (which went horribly, as expected) but I didn’t let it get me down. Sure, I could have half-assed it and saved myself some time, but that’s how med errors happen ( so no thanks!). I finished my 8am med pass at 11:45 (WITH HELP from my preceptor) YEAH BABY!! The residents were pissed, but I just kept smiling and explained the situation as best I could.

At one point during the morning, when I was running around trying to get a million things done, my supervisor said to me “How are you doin’  Steph?” And I replied with “Great, actually! I’m late for absolutely everything, but I’m still in a great mood!” and she laughed and said “Good for you! Looks like the insanity has finally set in!”

At the end of my shift my preceptor told me what a great job I did! I was ELATED.

Nursing can sometimes be a very thankless job. Especially when you’re working your absolute hardest and it’s still not good enough for the residents (which is fair, they deserve to get their pills on time).  It was so nice to hear that someone noticed how hard I was working.

So I guess I really have learned from the change in pharmacies.
I’m still glad to be done day shifts though. Man, I cannot wait until night shifts start on monday. Night shifts are so much calmer!!

That’s all for now… Better get out and run some errands in the snowy abyss that is Waterloo at the moment. Blegh. Need to step up the boycott. It’s failing!!!

One Response to “New Attitude”

  1. Jessica March 1, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    Great job! I am reading th Secret and learning the power of positive thinking. It really does help! It has been working for me already.

Leave a Reply

