Fit for Free

27 Feb

So I read a very brief post on “fit for free” on another blog (Cannot remember which one!).

It made me wonder about my own excercise habits. I would be lying if I said I had a steady workout routine (It’s a constant battle). I do feel that I am a healthy young person, and for the most part, I eat extremely well.

The thing is that being a student prevents me from affording a gym membership. Sure, I can use the school gym, except that it’s 1.5 hours away from home, and I don’t ever go to the school since I’m completing my consolidation. I do yoga at home quite a bit and I enjoy that, but I don’t feel as though I’m getting a workout unless I’ve done some form of cardio.

So what could I do for cardio that is free?? Well, in the spring, summer and fall, I do a LOT of cycling. Love it. But it doesn’t work so much in the winter. I know a lot of people who run in the winter but I can’t run (I was born with rheumatoid arthritis).

This semester has been the worst one yet as far as workouts go. I’m learning as well that when I’m active, my eating habits are much better. Working out and healthy eating go hand in hand for me.

Thankfully, a close friend of mine is moving into her first “grown up” apartment. Her building has a workout room, and a pool! She said I was more than welcome to come and workout with her. THANK GOD. I was beginning to think I would have to wait until spring (when I can get out on my bike).

Speaking of cycling, hubs-to-be finally found me a road bike that fits me (not an easy task). We had to buy a new seat post, and tomorrow we’re going to pick out a saddle and head to Recycle Cycles (to use their tools) and put the bike together. I’m also hoping to pick up some pink handle-bar tape (for a girly touch). Britton is REALLY into cycling and he can repair a bicycle like it’s nobody’s business. I love it when he fixes things. It’s so manly and hot.

Getting the bike ready for spring is another way to boycott winter! Sure, we’ve had more snow in the past week than we have all winter, but gad dammit, I’m still getting ready for spring as if it will be here tomorrow.

So there it is, my fit for free plan. I guess you’ll have to stay tuned to see how it goes!

I may post another bloggy tonight. We’ll see!

One Response to “Fit for Free”

  1. rovisi February 27, 2010 at 6:55 am #

    You could try walking. That is also free. So is calisthenics (which, I believe, is doing bodyweight movements really fast). So is plyometrics, although all the jumping around may piss off the people below you. Don’t you have a skipping rope somewhere too? There you go – 4 free things.

    I would also switch up your definition of “workout”. Just because you didn’t do cardio doesn’t mean you didn’t work out. I think what you’re looking for is doing something strenuous that jacks your heart rate up (yoga doesn’t really do that ) or gets you sweating (yoga can do that). I have no idea what sort of yoga video you have, but maybe you could buy something a bit more difficult (i.e. Ashtanga yoga)? Don’t you also have the 30 Day Shred?

    Also, don’t you have weights at your apartment? Some squats, lunges (there are a million lunge variations), shoulder presses, rows, chest presses, bicep curls, tricep moves…and voila, you will be sweaty and your heart rate will be through the roof. If you want to blow up your big Swiss ball, I know a really good ab move on it!!!

    Anyway, I have written a blog unto itself here. But if you do want to talk more about weight-lifty stuff that’s appropriate for your apartment, let me know! I think I have a couple of programs kicking around that would work.

Leave a Reply

